Happy Christmas and very best for 2018

Dear Parent/Carer

Can I take this opportunity to wish you and your family a very Happy Christmas and a very healthy and Happy 2018.

Just a reminder that on Friday 22nd December we hope the entire Academy will join us in our now traditional ‘Christmas Top (Jumper or T shirt) Day’. Students and staff are all encouraged to join in with this event. Students and staff will be able to wear ‘normal clothes’ for this day. A donation (suggested 50p) will be made for our charitable collection for Save the Children and Joseph Swan Academy.

As you will know we end our term this year on Friday 22nd December at 12.30pm. If the finishing time is a concern please do contact the Academy’s Administration Manager, Mrs A Atkinson via andreaatkinson@josephswan.org.uk or 0191 4422004. The scholars’ buses will not be running in the afternoon on this day.

As we come to the end of this the term can I, as always, thank you for all your support. We have had record breaking attendances from Parents/Carers at our Academy Progress evenings, our Shine Awards Evenings and our Remembrance Concert. We have also had great support for our charitable collections for the Royal British Legion, the Gateshead Foodbank, the Food Co-operative and ‘Shelter’.

During the Autumn Term we have continued to focus on improving attainment and achievement of all our students. The focus in the Spring Term will be to further develop our students’ positive attitudes to learning ensuring they are resilient, ambitious and are positive participants.

In addition we are introducing new travelling to and from the Academy standards. These are detailed in an additional letter which has been emailed or has been posted to those parents/carers without email addresses and is also on the Academy website. Please do read this.

As you can see from the following table next term will be a busy time for all of us.

Spring Term Key Dates:

Monday 8th January to Wednesday 10th January 2018 Year 11 Trial Examinations
Tuesday 9th January and Thursday 11th January 2018 (see separate timetable) Year 10 & Year 11 BTEC Examinations (selected students)
Wednesday 10th January and Friday 12th January 2018 (see separate timetable) Year 12 BTEC Examinations (selected students)
Monday 15th January to Friday 19th January Year 9 Assessment Week
Monday 22nd January to Friday 26th January 2018 Year 12 & 13 Trial Examinations
Monday 29th January 2018 (separate invitation letter to follow) Year 11 Progress Evening for Parents/Carers
Friday 2nd February 2018 Holocaust Memorial SMSC Day
Monday 5th February 2018 from 4pm to 7pm Year 9 Progress Evening for Parents/Carers
Friday 9th February 2018 Heart to Heart SMSC Day
Monday 12th February to Friday 16th February 2018 Half Term Holiday
Monday 5th March 2018 from 4pm to 7pm Year 12 & 13 Progress Evening
Monday 12th March to Friday 16th March 2018 Year 11 Trial Examinations
Monday 19th March 2018 from 6pm to 7.45pm KS4 Options Evening (Year 9)
Thursday 29th March 2018 Staff Training Day
Friday 30th March to Friday 13th April 2018 Easter Holidays

We look forward to working closely with you in 2018. Please do have a wonderful Christmas and very best wishes for 2018.

We would like our students, your children, fully rested and ready for ‘energetic’ learning when they return. The Spring Term will begin at 8.30am on Monday 8th January 2018 when we look forward to welcoming our students back.

With very festive wishes

Yours faithfully

Miss H E Scott
Head Teacher

Provisional term dates for the Academic Year 2018-2019:

Autumn Term Starts Monday 3rd September 2018
Autumn Half Term To be confirmed
Autumn Term Finishes Friday 21st December 2018
Spring Term Starts Monday 7th January 2019
Spring Half Term Monday 18th February 2019 – Friday 22nd February 2019
Spring Term Finishes Friday 5th April 2019
Summer Term Starts Tuesday 23rd April 2019
Summer Half Term Monday 27th May 2019 – Friday 31st May 2019
ummer Term Finishes Friday 19th July 2019
Academy Training Days To be confirmed