BTEC National Extended Certificate in Information Technology

IMG_0191Information Communication Technology is the fastest growing sector of business. Employers are looking for applicants with a  minimum level of understanding of ICT.

BTEC ICT Practitioners has been devised to deliver the necessary skills that employers are looking for.

The courses cover a wide specification including Systems Communication, Hardware and Software, Information Systems, Advanced Databases, E-Commerce and System Security, HCI, IT systems, Computer Animation and Networked System Security.

The BTEC course has the same structure as the OCR course that was completed in Year 10 and 11 and continues developing the skills that were learned.

Students on the Award Course work to complete 6 units and students on the Certificate work to complete 12 units. Assignments are given for each unit, which much be completed for a set deadline.

There is no exam to complete.

Qualification equivalence: A Level
Course contact: Mr Hays
Assessment: Coursework
Additional entry requirements: Level 2 ICT and Grade 4 in GCSE English or Maths
Suggested combinations: Business, Health and Social Care, Science